Monsters! Again!

I suppose when you get right down to it, there’s nothing I’d rather write about than monsters.

Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 8.34.18 AMThe Unofficial Middle-earth Monster’s Guide is now available. I’m a co-author for the book (which I wrote along with Peter Archer). Peter and I also worked on the previous book The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook. Obviously, both books are a tongue in cheek celebration of the work of Tolkien.

I particularly enjoyed writing this new book, because it gave me a chance to revisit the subject of monsters (which I explored in my 2007 book Monster Spotter’s Guide to North America).  This time I got to write about dragons, wargs, giant spiders, ring-wraiths, stone-giants, trolls, orcs, and the quasi-evil black squirrels of Mirkwood. I think it’s a fun romp through Middle-earth — I hope you’ll agree. Learn more here.

Here are a couple of fun illustrations from the book (created by Ben Patrick).

Illustration by Ben Patrick, official illustrator for the Mordor Collective

Illustration by Ben Patrick, official illustrator for the Mordor Collective

Ditto

Ditto

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

