HOW Conference Bound

I’m getting ready to go to HOW Design Live, “the biggest gathering of designers, freelancers, creative team managers, and other creative professionals in the country.” I’m excited about this trip on many levels. As I’ve mentioned earlier, I’m keen on learning some more about the design industry, not just because I’m now editing design books, but also because I think the integration of writing and design is so important. As a writer, I find it interesting to talk with designers and see the ways they express their ideas and ways that images, or even font choice can affect the tone of a written piece.

I’ve got a fair amount of work to do at the show, but I’m also looking forward to getting to sit in on a few sessions as well. Here are a few of the sessions I’m planning to attend:

  • a session on brainstorming with David Sherwin, author of the forthcoming Success by Design (due November 2012)
  • “Chasing the Monster Idea” with Stefan Mumaw, author of Caffeine for the Creative Mind and Caffeine for the Creative Team
  • “Creative Story Telling for Designers and Unicorns” with Walt Disney innovation director Christopher Chapman
  • “How to Survive Your Soul Crushing Day Job” with Operation Nice blogger Melissa Morris Ivone

Full report when I return.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Graphic Design, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

