What would a hobbit do?

So, I’m working on a pretty fun side project right now. Along with a couple of other authors I’m contributing to a book titled The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook. The best way to describe the book is that it’s a sort of “What Would A Hobbit Do?” type of book that gives Tolkien-esque solutions for daily life. (Hobbit self help, perhaps?)

So for the past couple months, when not working at my day job I’ve been researching hobbit society and culture and examining self defense techniques that might be drawn from Middle-earth combat. Not to mention conversing with dragons (in my mind, of course). Here’s hoping the whole thing comes together without a hitch. My chapters have been a lot of fun to write. Think equal parts tongue in cheek humor  and actual life lessons (advice on etiquette, and the like).

Also working on the project are Peter Archer (who has written for Wizards of the Coast), Jeff Gerke (founder of Lord Marcher Press, a publisher of Christian speculative fiction), and Ben Patrick (the same illustrator I worked with on Monster Spotter’s Guide to North America).

I’ll share more about the book as it nears completion. For now check out the cover (illustrated by Ben Patrick and designed by Claudean Wheeler).

One Response to “What would a hobbit do?”

  1. introvertedknitter Says:

    Stumbled upon your blog, and was drawn in by the mention of Hobbits. I am a big Tolkien fan and I have to say this sounds like such an interesting and fun idea for a book. I look forward to hearing more. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

