HOW now, brown cow

Hello writers,

After about three and a half years working for Writer’s Digest, I’ve moved to HOW Books (a line of books for designers). I’ll still be editing, and likely expounding on writing/editing/publishing thoughts from time to time. So while I intend to still post about writing, the subject matter of the books that I’ll be working on will be changing a bit, and I’ll likely also be talking about some of my own personal projects a bit more.

I hope that you enjoyed the writing instruction posts I’ve shared over the past couple years, and I’ll likely still share my thoughts on the industry or share advice I stumble across from time to time. I loved working for Writer’s Digest. I learned a lot about writing and also about the publishing industry. The thing about writing advice is that its such an ongoing conversation. The way we get our words out there constantly changes and you have to stay involved and keep learning new things in order to be successful.

I’m sure much of the same will apply to the new realm I’m entering- that of publications and media for graphic design industry, where HOW specializes. I’m excited to learn about a different industry that communicates in other ways- using pictures and symbols, as well as words. I hope you writers out there will stick around and keep reading. I also hope to appeal to folks who love the integration of good design and good writing. I have always felt the two go hand-in-hand (some of my favorite people are graphic designers). After all, the ultimate goal is simply to inform … to entertain … to communicate.

Leave a Reply

