Momentum

I’ve been a bit busy and it’s taken me a little while to post my first post of the new year (which is a bit ironic since one of my relsolutions is to post more often).  But as writers I’m sure you all know how it is: numerous projects, being pulled in lots of directions, etc. It can be easy to get bogged down.

Which brings me to the theme of my post: Momentum. I’ve been thinking alot about this concept (which started because the theme of the year at the school where I study martial arts is “momentum” and I’ve found it applying to my writing life as well). Basically, the thought is this: once you get going things will come to you easier. It’s not a radical concept. Just a simple universal truth.

Often I find that when I’m working productively I’ll find new and better ways to finish a project, or I’ll find myself feeling creative and think of other good ideas. I meet deadlines sooner than expected and find myself with more spare time than I thought I had. On the flip side, when I get derailed on a project it is easy to slip into a rut and can be hard to crawl back out. I’m sure you’ve all experienced something similar.

That’s why so many people start the new year with resolutions. It’s a way to gain momentum and – to use a well worn cliche – “start off on the right foot.” My advice to writers is to look to your writing projects and goals for the year and develop a plan. Where you want to be within a month, 3 months, mid-year, and so forth. However you like to work, just make sure you are constantly moving forward.

My own goals involve a book project, blogging more often (as I mentioned), and learning as much as I can about e-book technology and new opportunities in the publishing industry.

I’m starting off this year at the Writer’s Digest Conference Jan 20-22 in NY. There are lots of great speakers, informative panels (I’m moderating a fiction panel there myself), and a pitch slam where you can meet with literary agents. I’m looking forward to the conference not just as an industry professional, but as a writer. I think a conference like this is a great way to dive into the writing year. Learn how to register for the conference here

Maybe I’ll see you there. No matter what your writing path, I wish you the best for the year and encourage you to get started now, gain momentum, and keep it up. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

