Nice Review of Monster Spotters

This morning I was excited to see a nice review of my book Monster Spotter’s Guide to North America.

Nice to know people are still finding the book and sharing it with others.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nice Review of Monster Spotters

  1. Kris Dalpiaz says:

    This sounds like an interesting book. One of the characters in my current work is a cryptozoologist, so I’m curious how you did your research for this. I’ve seen other books that are almost straight copies from wiki, which is disheartening and useless for my own research.

    Also, I entered into the WD picture story contest. I’m looking forward to the results.

    • seescottwrite says:

      I did a lot of research online, yes. I found Wiki to be a good jumping off point, but tried to dig deeper. But I also spent some time at the library and tried to actually do some local research whenever I traveled… looking into local legends and so forth. My own approach isn’t super scientific. I’m more interested in the storytelling and folklore aspects of monster legends. I talked to people and tried to learn about local legends or legends they heard about growing up. Don’t get me wrong I love cryptozoology (if you’re looking for some serious stuff try reading Loren Coleman’s work–maybe you already have). I just didn’t approach my book from an angle of whether or not things were true. More just trying to compile legends and stories, point out similarities, and encourage folks to explore on their own.

      Not sure if this helps… but I wish you a lot of luck on your book, it sounds cool.

Leave a Reply

