Author Interview: Sage Cohen

The advance copies for Sage Cohen‘s new book The Productive Writer just showed up. This was a fun book to edit… the book is full of helpful tips, checklists, and charts for planning and organizing every aspect of your writing life from generating ideas to keeping a productive writing schedule to self promotion.

I had an opportunity to ask Sage a few questions. Here’s what she had to say:

When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?

I never really thought about wanting to be a writer. From a very young age, writing was just something I did––like breathing––to stay alive. In my early 20’s, it occurred to me that I wrote poems every day, and perhaps that meant that I was a poet. It was a bit of a shock, really, to discover that I was a writer when I had no self-consciousness about it for so long.

What was the first thing you ever wrote?

While it was certainly not the first thing I ever wrote, my 10th grade paper on “The Once and Future King” was my initiation into the alchemies of the writing life. I remember carefully articulating my three-point argument to back up my thesis statement, just as we were instructed to do. And then, when I arrived at the conclusion, it sort of wrote its way through me. I lost conscious control and some other impulse drew the unifying revelation out and onto the paper. It was almost a mystical experience. I was hooked.

To read the complete interview at WritersDigest.com click here

Catch Sage Cohen’s session at the Jan 21-23, 2011 Writer’s Digest Conference (Hurry, Early Bird registration ends December 3)

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview: Sage Cohen

  1. Dana says:

    I enjoyed this interview very much. Thanks for posting.

    I especially likes where she talks about the regular free writing practice as a way to write without judgment.

Leave a Reply

