Author Interview: Sarah Domet

As National Novel Writing Month draws to a close, I hope some writers have a good start on a novel. It’s a great time to think about continuing your project or starting on your next one. Sarah Domet‘s new book 90 Days to Your Novel should be in stores any day now, and it’s a perfect for setting a schedule and getting your book written. I recently had a chance to ask Domet a few questions. Here’s some of what she had to say:

When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?
I think I’ve always known I wanted to be a writer. I just didn’t know I knew. As a girl, I’d check out collections of poetry from the school library. I didn’t understand what I was reading, but I knew I liked the feel of checking out those books and reading them, even if they didn’t always make sense to me. When we were assigned book reports in elementary school, I’d read books like War and Peace, and hand-write 30 page synopses. (My ever-patient mother would then type these for me, asking me if I could, perhaps, shorten my summaries.)

As a kid, I struggled with shyness—big time. (My school nurse sent me to a speech therapist who asked me why I didn’t like to talk. I shrugged my shoulders in response.) Writing was my outlet. It should come as no surprise that my earliest stories featured me as an outgoing protagonist, accomplishing all of these amazing feats—saving lives, conquering outer space, traveling in time, and meeting world leaders.

What was the first thing you ever wrote?
Something exceedingly embarrassing. I think it was a science-fiction story about traveling forward in time, only to coincidentally meet my family in the future who, of course, sent me home with messages and warnings for everyone. However, the logistics of the story didn’t make complete sense. For example, when I leapt forward in time, my brother and sisters, well into their 30s/40s by then, were all still living at home with my parents. In the illustrations, the “future” family all wore matching one piece jump suits that looked right out of Mork and Mindy.

Click here to check out the complete Q&A with Sarah Domet at writersdigest.com

Leave a Reply

