Author Interview: Jeff Gerke

Jeff Gerke wears lots of hats. He’s a christian fiction author (whose books include the Operation: Firebrand trilogy under the pen name Jefferson Scott), an editor, and runs his own publishing company (Marcher Lord Press). He’s also the author of Plot Versus Character, a book that addresses the question of how to balance these two critical elements of any novel. I recently had a chance to ask Gerke a few questions… here’s what he had to say:

What keeps you writing?

In my fiction, it’s the stories I want to tell. I got into this biz because no one was writing the stories I wanted to read, and that hasn’t changed.

For my nonfiction, which is mostly about the craft of writing fiction, I do it because I love to help and encourage novelists. I love to equip them to better do what it is they’re trying to do with their fiction.

What are some of your favorite books (and why)?
The Bible, because I’m a Christian. It sounds like a pat answer, but there’s a reason people say the ultimate tome on any subject is “the bible” on that
subject. For life, nothing beats the actual Bible.

The Lord of the Rings (can I count a trilogy as one book?), because that story was the very first novel to blow me away and show me the unstoppable
power of fiction.

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Browne & King, because it’s THE best book I’ve found on how to write fiction well.

Visioneering by Andy Stanley, because it shows you how to take a vision for any kind of project or business and turn it into reality.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you be?

A publisher, which I am! I knew I’d enjoy promoting other writers’ fiction, but I didn’t count on how absolutely gratifying it would be. I love to encourage good writers, and how does one better do that than by publishing them? To see my authors reach their audiences, gain notoriety, win awards, and maybe make a buck as well is extremely rewarding.

I would’ve also liked to have played cornerback for the Dallas Cowboys, but I think age and genetics were working against me on that one…

Check out a full Q&A with Jeff Gerke on WritersDigest.com

Preorder Plot Versus Character

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview: Jeff Gerke

  1. chrisd says:

    Jeff is also a gifted teacher and speaker. He is a pioneer in genre fiction in the Christian community. Thank you for highlighting him in your blog–he’s a good guy.

Leave a Reply

