Dealing with rejection

Hope everyone had a nice weekend. Mine was full of ups and downs. I went snowboarding (my first time)… talk about an exercise in patience. I fell. A lot. And getting up with a snowboard strapped to your feet is a feat in itself. But after some great instruction from my brother in law, a lot of work, and a ton of spills, I finally started to feel like I was getting it. Not getting it to the point of proficiency, mind you, but I was able to make it down one slope with no falls and I learned how to make turns and to slow myself down without the use of my posterior. The whole process took a lot of patience and a fair amount of bruises.

Do you feel a writing parallel coming? Good guess. Trying to get published is never easy- even if you’ve been published before, even if you have connections. Each project is a different challenge and unless you’re a big name author with a proven track record, you’ll be at the whims of sales people and a fickle market that is flooded with books trying to capitalize on the next big trend.

This weekend I also learned that the project I had going through proposal was passed on. So another bruise to add to the ones I picked up on the ski slopes. But I’m not dwelling on it. I’ve got other ideas and those deserve my full attention while I pack this one away in a mental trunk full of possibly useful things for another day. I’m already working on another writing project, as a matter of fact… and I’ll be hitting the slopes again for another day of snowboarding before winter’s end. Count on it.

Here are a couple of helpful online courses to help you market your work:

Writing the Query Letter

Marketing Your Magazine Articles

Nonfiction Hooks and Book Proposals

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dealing with rejection

  1. Lua says:

    Thanks for the websites, I’ll definitely look into them 🙂
    I guess if you are a writer, you need a thick skin, rejections are part of the process. Good for you, you turn them into motivation!
    Good luck with your new writing project 🙂

Leave a Reply

