Editor/Writer

So, I’m sure a lot of folks reading this blog have most often seen my editor side–talking about books that I’m working on as an editor and sharing things about publishing. But, I have my own writing projects too and we’re all in the same boat here (wanting to get our projects published).

I just sent off a book proposal and sample to an interested acquisitions editor, and now begins the waiting game. I won’t say much about my project for fear of jinxing it, but mostly wanted to share so that my readers would know that I know what you’re going through. From writer’s block to getting excited about a project to sitting around waiting to find out if it’s accepted… I’ve been there (am there).

My way of coping with this nervous period is to focus on other things. I’ve completed one stage in that project’s development (put together my sample/proposal and submitted it) and now I’m moving on to something else until I get the green light. My philosophy is that the important thing is to keep moving forward. Don’t dwell on things once they are beyond your control. Do the best you can, put it out there, and then move on.

I’ll let you know what happens with my project, and, as always, I wish you the very best with whatever you’re working on.

2 Responses to “Editor/Writer”

  1. Meliss O'dell Says:

    I’ll be rooting for you Scott.

  2. Heather Marsten Says:

    I pray that your book gets accepted. Waiting is tough, but I suspect you do have an edge on many for you know what good copy looks like. Thank you for the suggestion to keep moving forward. It is true, we won’t get anyplace new by looking backwards.

Leave a Reply

