Writers’ New Year’s Resolutions

What are your New Year’s Resolutions as a writer? It’s a great time of year to start thinking about new projects, or finally finishing something that’s been hanging around for a while. It’s like a new blank sheet of paper in your typewriter (completely metaphorical since I’m sure almost everyone is using a computer these days).

Here’s my list of 5 writing resolutions for 2010:

1. Try to write something every day– this can be something simple like  a blog entry or  something larger like working on an essay or a story, but it has to be something for myself… not a function of my day job

2. Really analyze the balance of showing vs. telling (scenes vs. summary) in my work (this is something that editing Laurie Alberts’s book Showing & Telling has inspired me to do)

3. Write at least 1 brand new short story this year (not a recycled idea from previous writing)

4. Be generous with things that I’ve learned as a writer working in the publishing industry and share the things I discover with other writers.

5. Finally, finally try to do the NaNoWriMo novel in a month challenge (this is something I’ve been wanting to do for a couple of years, but never have).

So there’s my list. What about you? I’d love to see resolutions from other writers. Feel free to post in the comments. I wish you a very happy New Year. Live long and prosper.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Writers’ New Year’s Resolutions

  1. uninvoked says:

    2010 I am fully committed to Uninvoked. I am going to give it everything I’ve got, and see how far I can push my idea.

  2. talikatzman says:

    I also have many goals,but the biggest one is to get my idea published 🙂 that would be a dream come true.care to see some of my artwork?

  3. I resolve to give as much time to writing as I’m giving to promoting my book. And I want to relax my brain enough and have the patience to reflect on each sentence I write and see if there’s a better way to word it. And I hope I continue to write with joy!

  4. Moe says:

    One of mine is still to have my writing area more organized. I’m starting to believe it is not possible.

  5. Bobby Nash says:

    I don’t usually make resolutions, but I do have a nice to do list.

    I plan to finish the 2 novels I’ve started, both at around 50,000 words each at this point.

    I plan to find an agent.

    Those are the biggies.

    Bobby

  6. Heather says:

    Excellent resolutions! I’ll have to check out Laurie Alberts’s book. I have several resolutions posted on my blog but the most important one is probably to keep improving my craft. I moved my writing to a whole new level last year and I’d love to do the same this year!

  7. Claire says:

    I’m still working on mine, but I want to revise the novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo 09 and do more world building for my NaNoWriMo 08 novel in prep for a revision pass. If I make significant progress with the revision I’ll let myself do Nano again in 2010, with book 2 for the 08 Nano.

    I’m also planning to be more involved in an online critique group I joined last year, and updating my writing blog regularly.

  8. Monica says:

    I highly recommend doing Nanowrimo. Did it for the first time this year and am now hooked. Great way of pushing yourself and letting go of everything precious about your writing.

  9. B.J. says:

    My writing resolutions:

    1. Finish my first edit of my Nanowrimo 07 novel
    2. Try to pound out first drafts of 5 new short stories a month
    3. participate in Nanowrimo (2010 will be my 5th year!)
    4. Be more diligent about submitting my work
    5. Take full advantage of being able to write when I can (such as when my girls are napping, and so forth)

  10. I didn’t do NaNoWriMo this year, as I was editing the book I’m querying now, but I want to take the concept to pound out the draft of the next one. I’ve been dallying around with it for a while now, and I’d like to get it out at least in case someone wants this finished work. That one I have a sequel planned for and I need to get cracking on some research for it.

    So those are two things up front I would like to get done in the first few months of the year.

Leave a Reply

