You might be a writer

This time of year I get obsessed with stationery. Calendars, journals and planners are marked down for post-Christmas sales and I start thinking of all the projects I want to do and how I want to organize them. I find myself wanting to write meticulous outlines and notes in a Hemmingwayesque moleskine journal. Notes for what? How the heck should I know? Everything. Nothing. Just notes. Notes that will become stories, essays, novels, manifestos…

I remember a poet friend of mine confessed how she was OCD about paper and stationery. I never really thought about it until she said it, but once she did I realized I was too. It’s a nice feeling to look at a blank sheet and think of the possibilities. Or to look at a blank notebook and think of how you might fill it.

It’s easy to get sidetracked, though. I find myself getting so obsessed with organizing and note-taking that I set projects that are in motion aside. It’s sort of like the “I’ve got to clean my desk before I can write anything” syndrome that so many writers have. 

My advice. Indulge your inner note-taker and buy yourself a nice journal for 50% off. Spend an hour playing with it. Then get back to work.

4 Responses to “You might be a writer”

  1. beckylevine Says:

    I’m with you, Scott–I could spend way too much time browsing those sections of the bookstores, drugstores, stationary stores–you name it. Trying to remember that it’s the work that counts, not so much what you use to keep track of it! 🙂

  2. Melissa Says:

    One word: Levenger.

  3. ANN ELLE ALTMAN Says:

    OMG…I must be a writer! My favorite store is Office Depot and I buy notebooks and pens whether I need them or not.

    ann

  4. Michelle Says:

    I would spend my money on anything to organize that is paper based. It’s terrible compulsion. I could also buy pens, markers and pencils galore.

Leave a Reply

