A conversation with author Becky Levine

BeckyLevineWDIf you’ve been reading this blog, you’ve seen some posts about Becky Levine’s book The Writing & Critique Group Survival Guide. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with Becky as the editor for her book. It’s a book that I would recommend to any writer who is trying to get a book ready for publication. A critique group with honest and objective partners is one of the best assets you can find as a writer. The feedback and suggestions you’ll receive will help you improve your work by leaps and bounds, and offer you support as you seek publication.

Becky’s book gives you everything you need to find (or start) a writing critique group, and also the tools you need to read effectively, to craft critiques of your partner’s work, and to incorporate the feedback you receive into your own work.

Here’s a quick interview with Becky:

When did  you discover that you wanted to be a writer?

 
When I was growing up, we moved when I was nine  years old, and I always date things around the “old house” and the “new  house.” I don’t remember writing anything in the old house, but it was a huge  part of my life in the new house. I think the actual moment when I decided  this was what I wanted to do “when I grew up,” was when I was reading a  wonderful series of teen mysteries by Phyllis A. Whitney (http://www.phyllisawhitney.com/). I  can remember holding one of those books and making the decision that I would  be a writer. Ms. Whitney had published several writing books, and I asked for  them all for various birthday and Christmas presents.

What was the first thing you wrote?

 
 The first thing I remember writing was a  short story about George Washington, that pretty much accused him of lying  about that cherry tree and then confessing, but not until he realized he was  going to get busted anyway. That may have been one of the stories I actually  sent to Redbook and Cosmopolitan magazines. Needless to say, they did not  publish me.

How much time per day do you spend writing?

 
 My time these days is pretty scattered. On a good  day, I can sit and write for a solid couple of hours and feel good about what  I’m getting on the page. But I think it’s more important that writers try to  get a chunk of writing time in each day, even if it’s only 20 or 30 minutes,  rather than waiting for the day they have a big open slot on the calendar. The  more often we come back to a project, the more fresh it is in our brain. If we  skip a few days, then too much of our “writing” time is used up by catching up  with the work we did in the last session, with bringing the story or other  project back into our writing minds.

Do you have any writing  rituals that get you in “the zone” (and if so, what are they)?

 
 I don’t have any real rituals–I’m actually a bit  jealous of those writers who do. It’s pretty much a requirement that I have a  cup of tea on my desk, if I want to write. And I read somewhere that if you  pick a piece of music, a specific CD, to write to every day, that your brain  gets trained to respond to that familiarity and get moving in the right  direction. When I remember to do this, it seems to work. So far the best music  I’ve found to write to is Kate and Anna McGarrigle’s album Metapedia. (http://www.mcgarrigles.com/). It’s kind  of folksy, and a lot of it is in French, so I don’t find myself singing along  and losing the writing connection.
 
What are the last 5 books you read?


 Well, I read at least 3 or 4 books a week, and  once they’re back on the shelf, I don’t remember which came first. So I’ll  just pick five of the most recent that I loved.

  • Fire, by Kristin Cashore
  • Zen and the Art of Faking It, by Jordan  Sonnenblick
  • A Time for Gathering: The Second Migration  1820-1880, by Hasia R. Diner
  • Winter and Night, by S .J.  Rozan  
  • Funny in Farsi: A Memoir of  Growing Up Iranian in America, by Firoozeh  Dumas

 
Your book champions the benefits of  critique groups—can you share a success story from your own critique  group?


 In the Q&A on Writer’s Digest page for THE  WRITING & CRITIQUE GROUP SURVIVAL GUIDE(http://www.writersdigest.com/article/critique-survival-guide-interview), I talked about Terri Thayer’s (http://www.territhayer.com) success with her  two mystery series. Everybody in my critique group, though, has finished a  book or more, done deep revisions, and submitted those projects to agents and  editor. We’ve all gotten to the point where agents are requesting our full  manuscripts and sending us complimentary notes along with the rejections,  encouraging us to submit more writing to them in the future. I don’t  think it’s any coincidence that we’ve been critiquing together for several  years and are all moving so strongly forward on the path toward publication.  We may not all be there yet, but there’s no doubt in my mind that we will  be.

Learn more about The Writing & Critique Group Survival Guide

Visit Becky’s website & blog

One Response to “A conversation with author Becky Levine”

  1. just killing time Says:

    Great article.
    DVA

Leave a Reply

