Thursday

Getting settled in this morning after hitting the gym. I’m sitting down to read the last bit of Peter Selgin‘s book of meditations on “Ways to Save a Novel.” I’ve been enjoying it. It’s an introspective and contemplative book on the writing life while at the same time offering some thought provoking ideas and advice for improving your work. 

I’m also working on the layout for Becky Levine’s Writing and Critique Group Survival Guide. This is a great book that I would recommend for any writer (after reading it I would encourage any writer serious about completing their work and trying to get it published find a critique group). 

I’ve got lots of other projects going on as well and I’m trying to get everything wrapped up before I go on vacation the week of Labor Day. (Yes! Vacation! and yep, in this instance I feel the exclamation points are justified and genuine). I’m headed to Traverse, Michigan for a week of hanging out with friends and family, and possibly some hiking and kayaking. 

When I return I’ll have a few days in the office before heading to NYC for the Business of Getting Published Writer’s Conference. Hope to see you there. Get this: there’s a poetry slam at the Bowery Poetry Club on Friday night (9/18). I haven’t been to one of those since college. I hope everyone likes pirate haiku written in authentic pirate vernacular (cause that’s about all I’ve got poetry-wise). Here’s one I’m particularly proud of:

Scrape n’ boil me bones
Ye rotten ol’ chum bucket
Th’ Devil take ye 

 

 

Leave a Reply

