Exclamation Marks

I have a writer/reader friend who hates exclamation marks. Passionately. 

I have to say I don’t care for them too much myself, and think they should be used sparingly. I ran across this F. Scott Fitzgerald quote in a book I’m editing that I thought I’d share:

“Exclamation marks–like laughing at your own jokes.”

I’m curious what other writing pet peeves people might have. Please feel free to post yours in the comments (or your own thoughts on exclamation points… Love them! Hate them. Inquiring minds want to know).

One Response to “Exclamation Marks”

  1. PastaQueen Says:

    I use exclamation marks in emails sometimes to make sure the recipient knows I’m using a friendly tone of voice. Tone can get really garbled on the Internet, so an exclamation mark here or there after a sentence lets people know I’m not being critical or grave.

Leave a Reply

