What I’m Working on This Week

Last night a friend asked me if I’d been writing anything lately. Always a fun question to have someone ask.
Besides from the article I just finished for Writer’s Digest (which will appear in the Nov/Dec issue), I’ve been doing more editing than writing lately. Here’s a quick list of some of the projects I’m working on this week:

Right now I’ve been pretty entrenched in proofreading mode. I’ve got the headphones on and my head down. I kind of like days like that. It feels good to dig deep into a project and really make some good progress.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’m Working on This Week

  1. nadia says:

    Hi, I’ve been writing for years and I’m currently working on my first YA book (and my first publishable book!) 🙂 I was wondering if you have some advice as to what would motivate me to submit various pieces of work on a regular basis. Thanks!

  2. seescottwrite says:

    Hi Nadia,

    I think the answer to your question lies in a little self reflection on your part. First, are you most interested in continuing to write or in shopping your book around? If it’s finished (or close to finished) and you are serious about getting it published, I’d recommend focusing your energy on trying to get it out there: start trying to build an author platform (you can do this locally and online)-it’s important even for fiction writers. Basically anything that will start getting your name out there. Start a blog, try to do some sort of events at your local library… things like that are ways to start small.

    You have to dedicate time to footwork, polishing your work, and listening to the feedback you get from agents/publishers when you shop your book around. If you get a positive response, but it’s still a rejection I recommend seeing what sorts of comments the editor or agent made and see how you might improve your work based on their feedback. Too often authors get the “I liked this, but…” rejection and think that is an open door to immediately submit something else. They are responding to your work, not to you as a person… if that makes sense.

    In terms of keeping up the writing momentum. I always encourage writers to write as much as possible. If that’s your real goal-being a prolific writer-then that changes your strategy a bit. Maybe set aside a small chunk of time a week (a couple of hours) to send out submissions/work on your platform/self-promote, etc. and set aside a daily chunk of time to write.

    My point is that you should decide if you’re in heavy promotion mode for your current book or if you’re still in writing mode. The one thing I warn against doing is trying to promote all of your writing projects at once. It’s too scattershot an approach. Focus on one thing at a time and you’ll likely get better results.

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

