Finding Inspiration

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been working on editing a science fiction and fantasy reference that combines a couple of bestselling backlist titles into one expansive text. It’s a really cool project, and I started discussing covers and illustration ideas with the book’s designer. I got kind of excited about some ideas I had to look back to some vintage style sci fi covers in the vein of Edgar Rice Burroughs books and the artwork of Frank Frazetta–I used to love looking through the paperbacks that lined the book shelves in my dad’s “office.” My dad is fond of buying up books at flea markets and has amassed a collection (though he doesn’t think of it as such) of books with neat old covers.

Just thinking about those old books not only gets me psyched about possibilities for the illustration style that we’ll eventually decide upon for the Writer’s Digest Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy, but also makes me want to write some vintage pulpy sci-fi of my own. 

large_scan0002lostcontinent

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Inspiration

  1. William Cane says:

    I love the covers of the Ace editions of ERB’s books. Best of luck with this exciting new project of yours!

Leave a Reply

