Friday…um Thursday Afternoon Excitement

So I have a day off tomorrow and it feels like Friday to me. I took a personal day to prepare for my taekwondo test, which is on Saturday! So lots of excitement about that (I’ll try to post some pics). I’m also excited about the long weekend and everything seems to be happening super fast this afternoon. 

WDNovWtg09cpI’m putting the final touches on the articles for the Novel Writing special issue of Writer’s Digest, which comes out in July. I just wrote my editor’s letter and expect to look at the final proof next week! I’m really looking forward to this issue going to print–I think it will be a great resource for any writer (regardless of skill level). Check out the awesome cover my friend Claudean designed.

Also, I’m working hard on a couple of book projects that are getting close to crunch time:

Breaking Into Freelance Illustration by Holly DeWolf– This book is a fun book of business advice for illustrators who are planning to either freelance on the side or start their own illustration business.  The advice could really apply to a range of artistic careers, and is worth a look for any creative type. Due in book stores in September.

The Writing and Critique Group Survival Guide by Becky Levine– This book will be a must-have for writers who are thinking of joining (or starting!) a critique group. It includes advice for giving and receiving constructive critiques, and also lots of advice about how to successfully manage a group. Due out in January 2010.

So yeah. I’m pretty excited this afternoon. I’m looking forward to a lot of great things, including a couple of days to relax over the holiday weekend. In case I don’t post again until Tuesday, I hope everyone has a safe and enjoyable Memorial Day.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

