Head down and reading

Sorry for the lapse in postings. I’ve been in reading mode lately and am in the thick of a couple of editing projects. But, I thought maybe an update on everything I’m working on might be overdue, so here goes:

  • I’m editing the Writer’s Digest Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card, Terry Brooks, and the editors of Writer’s Digest–this book is due out in Spring 2010, and will be a great resource for sci-fi/fantasy writers. I’m really enjoying reading this one… it’s full of great reference material including everything from the theories behind speed-of-light space travel to details about magic and pagan rituals. It’s a great resource if you write speculative fiction, plus it’s just a fascinating read.
  • I’m also reading an early draft of a book about “showing and telling” by Laurie Alberts (see my previous post). This is due out in Spring ’10 as well. This is a great subject for writers to learn more about–everyone hears advice like “show don’t tell” but it’s important to know when to do one or the other for true balanced writing.
  • I’m working on pulling together the final pieces for my Novel Writing special issue of Writer’s Digest. I’m really looking forward to this… I think it’s going to be a great starting point for anyone writing a novel (beginners and novelists who are writing their next book alike).

More news to come as I get further along on these and other projects. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

