A bit of advice

When naming your children, don’t opt for a first name that you’re not going to actually call the kid just because you like the way the whole name sounds together. Calling a kid by their middle name is going to cause them lots of problems and inconveniences down the road in life. (It might even give them a mild identity complex).

Here’s an example. This morning I’m trying to book a flight to our BEA Writer’s Conference using our company travel system and my name is set up incorrectly, which is causing me visions of being stuck in the airport not able to board the plane (in my mind they overlook this on my trip out and only question the fact that my ticket says “Scott” but my ID says “Michael” on my return trip, and as a result I can’t get home).

Yes. I know I’m being dramatic and that a couple of phone calls will take care of the matter. But imagine your kid having to do this over and over in their life. Imagine them being in the seventh grade on the first day of class and having a new teacher call out their first name at rollcall, immediately following that up with “Great name… that’s my name,” and then having all the other kids say “_______? I thought your name was ______…” It’s just awkward.

Don’t doom your child to red tape, paperwork errors, and a life of awkwardness. The simple exchange that occurs when someone asks “What’s your middle name?” may seem mildly amusing at first, but trust me… years later, it’s just tedious.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

