Perseverance

tiger_clipart_4Last night I had a pre-test for an important upcoming test in my martial arts training. For the past couple of months I’ve been a little worried about my techniques, wondering if they’re good enough… wondering if I’ll be ready in time for my test. I was disappointed in my performance at a previous pre-test and did  lot of over-analyzing of what I felt that I did wrong.

275891But, last night things seemed to come together. I found myself wondering what clicked? What was different about last night than before? Admittedly, anyone can have times when they are “on” or “off” and do something better than another time, but I think the real answer is perseverance. I kept reminding myself of my goal and kept working toward it. I listened to the advice of others and worked to incorporate it in a way that made sense to me. As a result, I’m feeling much better about my test than I did this time last week.

This is one of those lessons that often present themselves and  I try to remind myself of when it comes to other things in life, whether it be writing or anything else. If you have a clear goal and are persistent, then you can succeed.

About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

