The Last 5 Books I Read

I’m a sucker for lists. Most of the writers I know are. So I was thinking about the books I’ve read in my spare time most recently and here’s a list starting with the most recent. I’ve been doing a lot of re-reading lately of books that I’ve read before.

  • A Single Pebble by John Hersey–Okay so this one is a re-read. I read it years ago and thought it a great story about self-discovery and appreciation of simplicity in life.
  • A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore–I love Christopher Moore… anyone that combines humor with vampires, demons, aliens or Death is okay in my book.
  • After Dayton by C.S. Carrier–Carrier is a friend of mine from school. This book of poetry is lyrical and full of wonderful visual language. 
  • Zen and the Martial Arts by Joe Hyams–I read this in an evening, and am reading it again. It’s a classic for anyone who practices martial arts, but is full of good life lessons even if you don’t. I was saddened by the author’s recent passing.
  • I Am a Cat by Natsume Soseki–Another re-read. My sister gave me this book years ago, insisting that I read it. Every now and again I go back to it to learn from the feline narrator’s commentary on humanity and to laugh at his epic battle with a particularly sticky rice cake–still cracks me up.
About seescottwrite

I'm a writer and editor. I've worked for Writer's Digest, HOW and Popular Woodworking and have authored and co-authored several books including "The Monster Spotter's Guide to North America," "The Unofficial Hobbit Handbook," and "The Writer's Book of Matches."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

