Fan Mail

I occasionally get a note from someone who has read my book Monster Spotter’s Guide to North America. Today I got one of the nicest ones I’ve ever received:

“My daughter (8 years old) desperately wanted your book after seeing it in a bookstore. She is now also an avid Monster Quest watcher and was extremely excited to see a monster guide. Previously I have had very difficult times with her because she was deathly afraid of monsters she imagined in her room, in her closet, growing out of the walls, and a ghost that she sees in our back yard. I told her the best way to not be afraid of something was to learn all you could about it. It wont seem as scary if you get to know it. Because of reading your book, she found out that not all monsters are scary (in fact some are quite nice), has come up with theories (some monsters might be real and debunking some monsters)of her own, and is just generally not as afraid of what might “be out there”. For that, I thank you VERY MUCH. You have an extremely avid fan in my daughter. She carries your book around with her everywhere now…”

Leave a Reply

